New York DMV Driver Responsibility Program

New York State Department of Motor Vehicles

Image via Wikipedia

New York State Vehicle and Taffic Law has been changed . . . . no, not to make it easier for people convicted of driving while under the influence of alcohol, things are getting even tougher in New York State. Anyone who is convicted of some very specific traffic violations are required to pay an assessment to the Department of Motor Vehicles. This applies to any drivers operating a motor vehicle on the roads of New York State, it doesn’t matter if the motorist is licensed in a different state.  The Driver Responsibility Program has one very clear purpose . . . it is aimed to prevent repeated behavior problems amongst drivers and improve overall traffic safety.

What Exactly Is This Driver Responsibility Assessment

It is an amount to be paid to the DMV in addition any other fines, penalties, fees and surcharges involved with a traffic conviction. You must pay it every year for a period of three years.

Who Pays The Driver Responsibility Assessment

Well, you do if you’re involved with any of the following;

  • Are convicted of any DWI offence in New York State either on or after November 18 2004 . . . this includes violations involving snowmobiles and boats.
  • Are convicted of any traffic violation which is drug related . . . same time period, same vehicles as above.
  • You have refused a chemical test in NYS after the above dates on the above vehicles.
  • You have a total of 6 or more points on your New York State drivers record within an 18 month period, with the violation occurring after the above dates in either NYS, Quebec or Ontario.

If you’re wondering whether that includes you . . . let me tell you this, if you need to pay the assessment then the DMW will send you a statement telling you how, when and where you must pay.

How Much Does The Driver Responsibility Assessment Cost 

That varies depending upon the type of traffic violation and the total number of drive violation points you have;

  • Convicted for alcohol or drug related traffic violation or refusal of a chemical test – $250 per year for 3 years – total $750.
  • Six points on your driver record within 18 months – $100 per year for 3 years – total $300. However, if you have more than six points on your driver record then you’ll have to pay an extra $25 per year for each extra point.

How Do I Pay the Driver Assessment . . . And What Happens If I Don’t Pay

The statement which you receive from the Department of Motor Vehicles will tell you all about how much, how, when and where to pay your driver assessment. If you don’t pay then you’ll have your drivers license suspended, your learner permit . . . all of your driving privileges will be gone!  The amount is not negotiable . . . you pay the amount on your statement or you forfeit your driving privileges.

What Information Will Be On My Statement from DMV

Let’s explain everything to you a little clearer:

    • Violation date – the date that the violation occurred . . . the date the police officer wrote out the ticket!
    • Conviction date – the date that the court or the hearing at the DMV decided who were guilty of the violation.
    • Assessment date – the date that it’s all included onto your drivers record.
    • Annual statement date – date that the statement is issued to the driver by the DMV.
    • Payment date – final date you have to come up with the money! If you don’t pay on time you know what will happen . . . .

I think that’s what I said isn’t it . . . more or less!